Growing an Identity

Not too long ago my Twitter account was hacked into, I felt like someone stole my identity. At first I was worried but then I realized I didn’t know who I was back then. So in a way it wasn’t really me that got hacked, but a faceless version of whom I thought I was. Sometimes you need to step back to see the difference between whom you thought you were and who you are.

I always felt that I had to create this image of myself, to have the latest clothes, and act a certain way to get people to like me. Like many young people I looked in magazines, on Television, and in movies to see whom I wanted to be like.

There are so many role models out there it is hard to narrow out whom to look up to. Many of them are not who they say they are. They walk around with a fake facade, only showing what they want us to see. We look up to people whose intentions become fuzzy over time. And after a while we realize we have no idea what they stand for anymore.

IMG_7218_2

Trees at Marinette City Park

For me I found a truly honest role model in nature, all you have to do is look outside. Nature never pretends to be anything but what it truly is. It’s honest, beautiful, and resilient.

Like humans nature is unique and beautiful; there is no such thing as ugly in nature. Everybody has their own view of beaut, so nothing gets left out; from the grand landscapes of national parks to the dewdrops strung up on a spiders web, beauty is everywhere around you.

Not only is it beautiful it is also resilient; it deals with so much change and yet it thrives year after year. Bad things happen, it’s how you handle those bad things that tells you who you are. Do you give up and stop growing? Or do you get up out of the dust and grow from it, becoming stronger than ever? No matter which one it is try and better yourself from the experience. You will make mistakes but that how you learn and grow.

“Be the change you wish to make.”     -Gandhi

Don’t be the person to cut people down because they may seem out of place or just because you can. Take the time to get to know someone: it may surpise you.

I learned a lot by looking at nature, there is so many things it can teach us. The next time you want a role model go outside and look up to some trees.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

